THE LITTLE PRINCE – FOR ONE WHO USED TO BE A CHILD

Antoine De Saint – Exupery

(Scroll down for the English version)

Truyện này rõ ràng được xếp vào văn học thiếu nhi, nhưng lúc còn bé mình đọc chả có ấn tượng gì rõ ràng cả. Sau này lớn rồi đọc lại mới thấy thấm, sách chỉ có mấy trang mà mỗi lần đọc lại thấy khác đi.

Bạn mình bảo: “Mày mà viết về cuốn này thì phải viết về con cáo đấy”. Mình cũng thích con cáo, thích cái cách kết bạn theo nguyên tắc thuần dưỡng của nó, thích cả câu nói kinh điển mà ai đọc Hoàng tử bé rồi cũng đều biết, đều nhớ nữa:

Người ta chỉ nhìn thấy thật rõ ràng bằng trái tim. Cái cốt yếu thì con mắt không nhìn thấy.

Nhưng nếu bạn mình không nhắc thì mình sẽ chẳng nhớ ra cáo hay rắn gì cả. Mình sẽ chỉ nói về chuyện tình hoàng tử bé và hoa hay chuyến du hành qua các hành tinh của hoàng tử bé, đến mỗi hành tinh lại gặp một người kỳ dị nhưng thật ra nếu bạn nghĩ cho kỹ, những người đó chính là chúng ta đó thôi.

tumblr_o3dg7b61YS1u5vp7wo1_500.gif

Đến bây giờ mỗi khi đọc lại mình vẫn giật mình vì những câu như:

Chỉ có những đưa trẻ là biết mình tìm cái gì, chúng mất thì giờ vì một con búp bê bằng giẻ rách, và con búp bê ấy trở nên quan trọng lắm, ai lấy đi của chúng, chúng sẽ khóc.

Nếu bạn nói với những người lớn: “Tôi có thấy một cái nhà gạch màu hồng với hoa phong lữ trên cửa sổ, và chim bồ câu trên mái…” họ chẳng thể nào mà hình dung nổi cái nhà ấy thế nào đâu. Phải nói với họ: “Tôi đã thấy một cái nhà 10 vạn franc”. Họ sẽ kêu ngay: “Ôi thật xinh đẹp làm sao”.

Nói chung, bạn nên đọc cuốn sách này vì nó quá tuyệt vời, nó có câu chuyện để khiến bạn không buồn ngủ nhưng vẫn đủ triết lý để làm bạn suy ngẫm. Điều tuyệt vời hơn (theo mình nghĩ) là nó là cuốn sách duy nhất được xếp vào danh sách ai cũng nên đọc trong đời mà mỏng như vậy. Nếu bạn đọc mà ngẫm ra gì hay thì nhớ nói mình nghe, vì như mình đã nói từ đầu, mình cũng chẳng biết gì về nó hơn bạn đâu, mỗi lần đọc mình lại thấy khác.

97ccc15d4266d4bc454bfa720d84006a

This book is clearly considered for children but when I was a child, I had no impress on it. Now I have serious interest and realize that every time I read it again, I see it differently.

My friend told me that I must mention the fox. Like most people who read this book, I love the fox and the way he makes friends. I also remember his classic quote:

It’s only with the heart that one can see rightly, what is essential is invisible to the eyes.

But if my friend didn’t remind me, I would not think about the fox or snake. I only talk about the relationship of the little prince and the flower or his visit to his neighbor planets. He met a lot of people during this trip who so weird (as he and I thought) but when I considered carefully, I realized that I have some point just like them.

tumblr_ny9r3xSp7Z1up42jgo3_500.gif

Until now, when re-read this book, I still look back to myself when I read these following paragraphs:

Only the children know what they are looking for. They waste their time over a rag doll and it becomes very important to them; and if anybody takes it away from them, they cry. 

If you were to say to the grown-ups: “I saw a beautiful house made of rosy brick, with geraniums in the windows and doves on the roof”, they would not be able to get any idea of that house at all. You would have to say to them: “I saw a house that cost $20,000”. Then they would exclaim: “Oh, what a pretty house that is!”

In brief, you should read this book because it is so wonderful, it has a good story so you won’t feel sleepy but it still has a lot of lessons for you to think. The best thing about it: it is the thinnest book that ranks in the best-books-ever list (as I know). If you read it and burst out with some awesome ideas, tell me because as I mention in the first place, I don’t know this book better than you, every time I read it, I see it differently.

 

Leave a Reply

